5 Things you need to know about ISO 45001: 2018 Safety Management System

More than 2.78 million people have died at work from accidents and occupational diseases, and there are 374 million non-fatal events annually, according to the ILO (International Labor Organization). After OHSAS 18001’s effectiveness in boosting awareness of occupational health and safety, ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems were created in March 2018 to make up for this loss. The World Health Organization, the National Safety Council of India, and other nations in addition to the ILO all endeavor to promote the health and safety of employees.

What is 45001:2018 ?

An organization can use the framework provided by the ISO for safety management or Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) management system, ISO 45001, to proactively enhance its OH&S performance and manage risks and opportunities to assist prevent work-related injuries and illnesses for employees. The management and business procedures of an organization must incorporate all the needs.

Difference between ISO 45001 & OHSAS 18001

OHSAS 18001 is replaced by ISO 45001. The following are the main distinctions between ISO 45001 Safety Management System and OHSAS 18001:
♦Instead of using a procedure-based approach, ISO 45001 adopts a process-based approach.
♦The organization’s total management system must actively participate in ISO 45001, and management must assume a higher leadership position in OH&S.
♦The necessity of incorporating occupational health and safety into routine activities rather than seeing it as a separate activity.

Who is eligible to get ISO 45001:2018 certified?

Regardless of whether they opt for formal certification, any organization that adheres to ISO 45001 principles will profit from putting the system into place. Because it is based on well-established health and safety procedures, ISO 45001 is expected to overtake other standards as the de facto international norm for workplace safety in the years to come.

How does ISO for Safety Management relate to other ISO standards?

The “High-Level Structure” (HLS), which is implemented in accordance with other ISO standards, gives ISO 45001 a framework in common with other management systems. Senior management has a significant impact on how this standard is implemented. The updated ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 standards already have this feature. Along with the organization’s regular employees, the ISO safety requirements also apply to those who are not permanent employees but are nonetheless connected to the organization in some manner, such as subcontractors.

Benefits of ISO 45001:2018 safety management system

Although formal ISO 45001 certification may not be adopted by many organizations, doing so does have several advantages. Some of the advantages are undermentioned:
♦ Improves the ability to identify risks and dangers
♦Increases internal operations efficiency and manufacturing process quality
♦Enhances the security of everyone who is impacted by the organization’s actions
♦Sends a clear message to stakeholders, including customers, employees, and others, that you care about workplace safety
♦Changes the focus of your operation from detection to prevention
For the support and development of organizations, obtaining ISO 45001 certification from reputable training and certification service providers is crucial. The following are a few of the advantages of ISO 45001 Safety Management System:
♦Globally recognized Certificate
♦Industry expert trainers
♦Modern Instructional Formats
♦Programs for Customized Training
According to the ISO safety standards, it is the responsibility of the organization to implement a system to prevent avoidable safety events. Making sure that every employee gets home safely every day may completely change a company, enhancing everything from employee morale to overall productivity.

As ISO 45001 Safety Management System implementation is the essential especially for Manufacturing Companies. We Tetrahedron Manufacturing are one of the extensively leading ISO 45001 Consultancy, to make organizations certified by ISO for Safety Management.
To Know more visit –https://www.tetrahedron.in/iso-45001-consultancy/